EYFS at The GEMS Heritage

EYFS in Kindergarten at The GEMS Heritage Indian School

In line with the National Curriculum for England, we have embedded the best practices of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework in Kindergarten based on the seven areas of learning and development



  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development;
  2. Communication and Language;
  3. Literacy;
  4. Mathematics (problem-solving, reasoning and numeracy);
  5. Understanding the World;
  6. Physical Development;
  7. Expressive Arts and Design

At Heritage believe in a well-rounded approach to child development and cover all these areas through planned, purposeful play with a balance of adult-led, and child-initiated activities. We recognize our children as individuals and competent learners, who learn through play and exploration, making sense of their world. They practice new skills, build and construct their understanding, and have the opportunity to think creatively. They communicate with others as they investigate and solve problems, discuss and negotiate plans, and become independent learners and thinkers.

Based on 4 Principles

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

EYFS plays an integral role in preparing children for life and not simply the next stage in their education.